Disaster Recovery

— Do you have a plan, Mr. Fix?

— Do I have a plan?

DR.jpg

Does your company have a plan for a disaster recovery of its IT systems? That's the question every CTO should be asking themselves. Failure to plan for contingencies can result in loss of important data even as a result of a minor technical issue or human error. The consequences are well known: the company loses money and often also loses face.

A famous US movie studio lost the results of months of work by the entire staff of the company when an employee accidentally wiped the server. The kicker was that the server's backup function hadn't been working for more than a month. Experts estimate that businesses around the world lose about USD 1.7 trillion a year for good due to irrevocable loss of valuable data that were never backed up for some reason or another.

A disaster recovery plan is how you can guarantee that a failure in your IT system will be nothing more but a minor inconvenience and won't result in catastrophic data loss, impacting your company's performance and undermining the profitability of its operations. In addition, a good DRP will also reduce the time of recovery and the risks of a repeat occurrence of the same situation.

A disaster recovery plan must be developed in a comprehensive and careful manner, and its viability directly depends on the competencies and experience of the people that develop and execute it. You need to plan for hundreds of contingencies and take into account thousands of details and specific features of your corporate information and communication systems. What makes the task even more challenging is the fact that every organization has a unique ICT system.

In the years that STEP LOGIC has been developing DRPs for its clients, we've developed a carefully crafted procedure for it. Every stage specifies the steps that must be taken and that means that certain algorithms must be put in place. And following these algorithms ensures we can develop a failsafe DRP for any organization.

Stage 1

At this stage, we identify the IT processes and resources that are critical to the functioning of the organization. For each resource, its importance is determined, so is the degree to which it is interconnected with the other resources, and then various options for backing it up are considered.

Stage 2

At the second stage, we decide on which tools we're going to use to protect the client's IT resources. These may be organizational solutions or technology solutions, such as mirroring, clustering, backup, and replication. The result of this stage is a concept that describes the behavior of every system after a failure and the procedures for the IT department to follow when responding to a failure.

Stage 3

Then, it comes time to deploy and test the solutions, and during this stage we work on specific elements of the plan in detail and prove the plan's overall viability. 

As a result, the customer ends up with a comprehensive and fully tested disaster recovery plan for their IT systems to prevent a negative impact of such unpleasant but very common occurrences as media failure, network equipment problems, software, hardware or human error, power outage, etc. 

— So do you have a plan, Mr. Fix?

Disaster Recovery

— Есть ли у вас план, мистер Фикс?

— Есть ли у меня план?

DR.jpg

Есть ли у компании план аварийного восстановления ИТ-систем? Именно этот вопрос должен задать себе каждый ИТ-директор. Отсутствие умения подстелить подушечку здесь и подложить соломку там способно привести к потере важных данных даже из-за незначительных аварий или человеческого фактора. Неминуемые последствия известны всем – финансовые и репутационные потери.

Известная американская киностудия лишилась результатов многих месяцев работы всего штата компании из-за того, что кто-то из сотрудников случайно стер всю информацию с сервера. При этом резервное копирование не работало более месяца. По данным экспертов, бизнес теряет около $1,7 триллиона долларов в год из-за безвозвратных потерь ценнейших данных, которые почему-то не резервировались.

План аварийного восстановления — Disaster Recovery Plan (DRP) — фактически гарантия того, что сбой в работе ИТ-системы останется лишь незначительной неприятностью и не отразится ни на сохранности данных, ни на результатах и эффективности работы компании в целом. Кроме того, DRP сократит время на устранение последствий сбоя и снизит риски его повторного появления.

Разработка плана требует комплексного и тщательного подхода, а его работоспособность напрямую зависит от компетенций и опыта исполнителя. Ведь нужно предусмотреть сотни непредвиденных ситуаций и учесть тысячи деталей и особенностей функционирования корпоративных инфокоммуникаций. Задача усложняется еще и тем, что у каждой организации они уникальны.

За те годы, что СТЭП ЛОДЖИК разрабатывает DRP для своих клиентов, в компании создана четко выверенная эталонная схема работы. Каждый этап расписан по шагам, которые, в свою очередь, предполагают определенные алгоритмы действий. И это залог идеально работающего плана для каждой конкретной организации.

Этап 1

На первом этапе мы выявляем критичные для существования компании процессы и ИТ-ресурсы, на которые они опираются. Для каждого ресурса определяется его важность и степень взаимосвязи с другими ресурсами, рассматриваются различные методы резервирования.

Этап 2

На втором этапе мы определяем инструменты, с помощью которых будут защищены ИТ-ресурсы. Это могут быть как организационные средства, так и технические решения, включая дублирование, кластеризацию, резервное копирование и репликацию. Итогом является концепция, описывающая поведение каждой системы после сбоя и реакцию на них отдела ИТ.

Этап 3

Затем наступает очередь внедрения и тестирования, в ходе которого мы отрабатываем отдельные элементы плана и доказываем его общую эффективность.

В итоге заказчик получает полноценный и проверенный план аварийного восстановления ИТ-систем, который предотвращает последствия неприятных, но вполне вероятных событий: отказ носителя, проблемы с сетевым оборудованием, программные, аппаратные или человеческие ошибки, сбой в электроснабжении и т.п.

— Так есть ли у вас план, мистер Фикс?

Разработать план аварийного восстановления